Bath Abbey, Bath England

Bath Abbey, considered one of the largest examples of Perpendicular Gothic architecture in southwest England. We visited a couple of years ago, and I was struck by the height of the column, the large stain glass window at the end of the of the tall clerestory, and the beautiful vaulted ceiling with fan-shaped columns.

Formerly a Benedictine monastery founded in the 7th century, it later became an Anglian parish church, it was rebuilt in the 12 century and restored in the 16th century. It is amazing to see such beautiful architecture, repeatedly restored and cared for over the centuries, and through the generations.  Coming from Calgary Canada where everything is new, or if it isn’t new it is tore down to make way for new, it is stunning to sit in such a building an image the people that built or work on it or passed through it’s doors, and the changes in the world that have happened while it has been standing.

jmeyersforeman photography

45 thoughts on “Bath Abbey, Bath England

    • I Lesley, thanks for visiting and taking time to comment, according the wikipedia “The fan vault is peculiar to England” It is quite beautiful, graceful might be a better word!

  1. Your entry is one of the reasons I love Jake’s Sunday Post Challenge so much…it takes me around the world through the eyes of others! What a wonderful photo…thank you so much for sharing it and the info as well. :)

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post: Solid like a Rock « Positive Parental Participation

  3. Spectacular photo! I was in Peterborough recently- not a place I associate with great cathedrals but I found the one there very beautiful, so if you’re passing that way…

    • thanks restlessjo, for you visit and your kind words, I will put the Cathedral on my list of places to visit, I have been lucky to visit England, and Wales a couple of times, so I am not sure when I might get back, but I have extended family there, so there is always a chance.

  4. Pingback: Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  5. I like the composition of your shot. The vertical format emphasizes the height of the columns. The black and white helps to showcase the lines of the architecture without being distracted by what must be a beautiful stained glass window!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside « beyondpaisley

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside « Jinan Daily Photo

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside « Beijing City Photo 2

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Beyond the Brush

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge (inside) | robertdickinsonphotography

  11. what a great image. I get what you mean about buildings like this having an effect on you…coming from Australia and now living in New Zealand i feel the same when i get to go somewhere where there are buildings like this, and their age dwarfs me completely

    • thanks Kate, the color is nice, and shows off the warm color in the building, and the stain glass, but the black and white shows off the lines better, I may try to get the color one posted as well so people can compare the two.

      • I know what you mean about the black and white capturing the lines. It definitely works superbly here. It’s my curious nature that is interested in the color version also. I have photos where I struggle with which to present–color or black and white. Sometimes I just like both. :-)

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Here & Abroad

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | No Fixed Plans

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple « Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple « Beijing City Photo 2

  16. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple « Jinan Daily Photo

  17. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple | Here & Abroad

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple « Natsukashi Kansai

Leave a Reply

