Calgary Peace Bridge, in black and white

I had a few comments about the bridge yesterday, some suggested the image might look good in black and white, so I thought I would give it a try.  What do you think?  I like the lines and shadows, they become the subject as much as anything. While making changes to the image I also thought I would try out the square format. Yes, the images is square, measured by the computer, my personal measuring tape cannot be trusted! I think because I kept the horizon low, and the lines at the top seem to be expanding as they get closer to the top of the frame the image has the illusion of height.  The fisheye lens used at a low angle has added to the illusion. Let me know what you think, colour vs black and white, regular horizontal format v square format. I don’t think there is a right or wrong, it depends largely on the purpose of the image, and the story being told, but I would like to hear what you think.

16 thoughts on “Calgary Peace Bridge, in black and white

  1. I personally don’t like rule of the third. I prefer 1:5 or even 1:7 composition. So to me, this image is more dynamic. The sun gives good accent, too. By removing color factor, I can focus on interesting composition and pattern. Having said that, image was already carefully composed and unique idea was attempted at the moment of the shooting, it will turn out a great image anyway.

    Like

    • Hi Hiro, I like to stretch or even break the rules sometimes! I am glad you feel it is a strong image, it is a good example of why we should look at a scene from more that one vantage point.

      Like

  2. Congratulations Janice,
    Your perfect composition made this picture one of the weeks winners for the Technique challenge. Great use of the thirds

    Like

  3. Pingback: Early Morning in Merida Spain; The Lusitania Bridge | jmeyersforeman photography

Leave a Reply

