Leon Cathedral

Leon cathedral

Leon’s Gothic Cathedral, filled with stunning stained glass.  We were told that about 70% of the existing stained glass is original. In the early 1900’s a renovation of the Cathedral almost destroyed this great building. We are glad it is still around to admire. This image was taken with a fish-eye lens.  I was teased for bringing it with me on the 800 kilometre walk, one more thing that really wasn’t needed.  For the few times I used it, I was more than willing to carry it for architectureal photography.

34 thoughts on “Leon Cathedral

    1. thanks Stewart, sometimes it is fun to try new tools in a different way. Just as long as we don’t fool ourselves into believing we need just the right tool (usually the one we don’t have) to produce great images!

      Like

    1. Hi Wanderlust Gene, thanks for visiting and taking time to comment, yes I was quite happy to have had the fisheye lens in my bag when I visited the Leon Cathedral, as well as the other cathedrals along the camino de Santiago de Compostella. it really does provided a different perspective of the building.

      Like

    1. thanks Loulou, I am glad that people like the images, the Leon Cathedral is a beautiful gothic cathedral, fashioned after Rheimes in France has about 1800 sq meters of stained glass, most of it is original, so it is a beautiful place to photograph. While we were visiting we saw several students drawning the different features inside and I would recommend a visit to everyone.

      Like

  1. I read many blogs before and since my trip – your photography lights up any topic you write about – love your pictures. I walked the Norte over five weeks and had to abort the Primitivo as my friend got ill. I continued along the Norte and then to Finisterre. An amazing experience that I am going to find hard to capture in words and my amateur photos. Thanks for getting back to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

