Master Craftsman, Waterford Crystal; an Environmental Portrait and my goals for 2013

Master Craftsman, Waterford Crystal, Environmental Portraits
Master Craftsman, Waterford Crystal, Environmental Portraits

Each year begins with new dreams and new goals, this year is no exception. But before I set new goals I spend a little time reflecting on the past year. What dreams and goals did I have; did I achieve them; what process, tools or resources did I use and were they effective, and most important what did I learn that I can take forward into this year to help make it successful.

The photo above is one of my favorite environmental portraits. As a Master Craftsman at the Waterford Crystal Factory, this man work takes years to achieve this level of skill and success.  He keeps his tools sharp and close at hand and despite the clutter picture the tools are well-organized. The designs for each piece carefully thought out and drawn up ahead of execution. This master craftsman and the work he does is a good example of how planning, understanding your tools, and learning to uses your tools effectively are important to the success of each project he undertakes.

Photographing someone at work; learning about their craft, and their passion, their skills, and watching them work is a rewarding part of what I do.  One of my goals for 2013 is to do more Environmental Portraits.

5 thoughts on “Master Craftsman, Waterford Crystal; an Environmental Portrait and my goals for 2013

Leave a Reply

