Meconopsis; Blue Himalayan Poppy in the UBC Bontanical Garden

Blue himalayan poppy in the sunshine
Blue Himalayan poppy in the sunshine

Last summer we visited the University Botanical Gardens , their canopy walk was so much fun, and their gardens a mix of BC rainforest, alpine garden, and asian garden, they have a food garden, and so much more.

This beautiful Blue Himalayan Poppy had a tiny bit of sunshine shining through the forest on it, the head was so heavy it was hanging down.  There I was laying on the ground trying to get this image. Luck was with me, first it wasn’t windy, and the poppy was sitting quietly in the sun. Secondly, only a couple of people came by and looked at me as I was laying there in the flower bed, lucky one of the gardener was not one of them. I am always very respectful about the gardens, not stepping or crushing anything else as I maneuver through to get the image I want.

I am not the greatest gardener, so it is no surprise that I have had no luck growing this beautiful flower, and I take time to photograph them when I get a chance. What is your favourite flower?

More beautiful flower images are available for licensing or printing at my gallery.

5 thoughts on “Meconopsis; Blue Himalayan Poppy in the UBC Bontanical Garden

  1. Wonderful photo! One of these years I have to get out to the UBC’s Botanical Gardens; I’ve always wanted to tour them. The meconopsis is gorgeous – I found some for sale in the garden centre the other day but left them on the rack. Too hard to keep alive here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

