Snowflakes

snowflakes_IMG_4490 snowflake_IMG_4562

I had a little time yesterday, and the sun was shining! Snowflakes were falling and landing on the tree in the front yard. I am not sure where these little flakes were coming from, as there was not a cloud in the sky. They were flat and feathery, and they sparkled in the sunlight. I couldn’t resist, getting the camera and the stepladder I headed for the front yard to see if I could get one decent image. I was lucky there were a few, but with the wind, many more were blurry, but I am happy with the results.

I am looking forward to better weather over the next few days, even if there are no more beautiful new snowflakes to photography.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Snowflakes

    • I was standing on a ladder inthe front yard! I must looking like a crazy lady to the neighbors, or maybe they have gotten use to seeing me out there! glad you like the photos. we don’t get to see snowflakes up close too often.

      Like

  1. Nice shots. Sometimes you’ve just got to do, what you’ve got to do to get the shot…I’m sure my neighbors are all convinced I’m completely crazy by now but, oh well, I guess I can live with that.

    Like

    • Hi Joanne, I am glad you stopped by to see the photography, it was nice to hear from you. Better to be a little crazy than boring, and wonderful that you follow your passion! Nice to know there are a few of us out there in the world!

      Like

  2. Oh, wow. How do you even DO that?!
    Thinking about the way a soft, feathery snowflake will brush your cheek… you captured that so perfectly with the ‘butterfly’ snowflakes in the first image. Beauty touched down for a brief moment only.
    These have a different personality from the stinging, challenging snap of the snowflakes we’ve gotten most of the month of December!
    -CSB

    Like

    • Hi Carol, I am glad you like the images. You are so right when you said “beauty touched down for a brief moment” I went out early in the morning to photograph the snow in the trees, and by noon, the tiny flakes were gone!
      December has been the month of snow for Calgary. I am grateful I was able to capture these, and without wishing for more snow, I am looking forward to more opportunities in January if the snow does fall….

      Like

Leave a Reply

