Salamanca Cathedral, Salamanca Spain

Salamanca Cathedral, Salamanca Spain
Salamanca Cathedral, Salamanca Spain

We cross a Roman bridge over the River Tormes to reach the Salamanca Cathedral, sitting high on the hill.

Central Nave, columns, arches and dome of the Cathedral
Central Nave, columns, arches and dome of the Cathedral

The Cathedral is actually two large Cathedrals, this main nave, down, and arches are part of the new Cathedral, constructed between the 16th and 18th century. From the ground floor there is an opportunity to go up to an interior balcony and view the Cathedral.

Central Nave and Choir Stalls of the New Cathedral, Salamanca Spain
Central Nave and Choir Stalls of the New Cathedral, Salamanca Spain

Then outside to an exterior viewing deck.

Salamanca Cathedral
Salamanca Cathedral

using the fish-eye lens, I was able to get all the towers, and domes of the Cathedral.

Salamanca Cathedral
Salamanca Cathedral

And finally a view of Salamanca from the top of the Cathedral tower

Salamanca Spain
Salamanca Spain

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Salamanca Cathedral, Salamanca Spain

    1. Hi Stephen. nice for you to stop by and take time to comment. I find the more I travel Europe the more ancient stone there is to see, enjoy and photograph, and you can some great work on your site!

      Like

  1. Janice, I am green with envy. I’ve been to Spain several times and not spent enough time doing what you are doing… uncovering marvelous gems from another culture, from another time! Next time I go it will be on MY agenda (I usually go with siblings) 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi janice! i am loving your posts, especially the photographs. May I ask, what gear did you take with you? How are you processing the photos that you have posted?

    Buen camino!
    Kendra

    Like

    1. Hi Kendra, I carry a bit of equipment – canon 5d mark iii, a 24 – 105 lens, a 1.4 teleconverter (i settled for this rather than a big lens!) and a fish-eye lens. I have one 6 stop ND filter and a very lightweight tripod. I process using Camera Raw and Photoshop, which means I carry a mac book air.Camera gear is about 6k, which is too much, I know, but I can’t help myself. I have a wonderful husband who helps me carry some of my stuff. We have the luxury of time, we walk shorter distances, and stay in some places a little longer than most who are walking the Camino or Via la Plata. Occasionally we resort to taking the bus on longer journeys! We are not the typical pilgrim – often choosing to stay in places where we can have a private room as well. I hope this helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

