Palacio de Cristal, Buen Retrio Park, Madrid Spain

Palacio de Cristal, Buen Retiro Park, Madrid Spain
Palacio de Cristal, Buen Retiro Park, Madrid Spain 

Palacio de Cristal. Built in 1887 by Ricardo Velázquez Bosco after the Crystal Palace in London, it was initially used to house exotic plants brought over from the Philippines. It is now mainly used for temporary exhibitions, and by visitors to enjoy the sun! 

The Buen Retrio Park was originally created as a Royal Park. it is 130 hectares of green space in the middle of Madrid is a beautiful space to relax away from the hustle and bustle of streets.

4 thoughts on “Palacio de Cristal, Buen Retrio Park, Madrid Spain

  1. What a stunning picture. The small details add so much to this image – the trees just seen through the windows of the dome, the visitors milling about, the leading lines of the columns. Did you use a wide angle lens? Just curious. I always feel at a loss to capture architecture and you did such a lovely job. I do not have the opportunity to travel and so I genuinely appreciate the chance to see beyond my home via your pictures.

    Like

    1. Hi Donna, so glad you like the image, I travel with a 24 – 105 lens and a fish-eye, the 24 – 105 “lives” on my camera and I used it at the 24mm for this shot. not everyone gets to travel and I am glad you are enjoying seeing the images on the blog. when I am home and not so busy working I try to get around my home town at different times of day and see it like a visitor.
      thanks for your comments.

      Like

  2. Impressive photograph of Palacio Cristal. We were there when it was being renovated and so closed to the public. This captures its beauty perfectly and uses the light to underline it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

