World Pinhole Day, April 27th, 2014; Madrid

 

Tono Canadas; NOPO Camers; Madrid

Tono Canadas; NOPO Camers; Madrid

On Sunday April 27th, 2014 I met Tono Canadas, he is the designer and maker of some beautiful hand crafted wooden pinhole cameras. He had invited photographers to meet at the Anton Martin metro station in Madrid, for World Pinhole Day to kick off his new camera. I don’t have a pinhole camera, but I do have a camera cap with a pinhole, so I decided to join the group and see what I could learn about world pinhole photography.  Here is a picture of Tono Canadas with his cameras.  As my camera is a DLSR, and use a mirror to see for framing, asI cannot see through the pinhole I did have a little trouble framing properly. At least with the digital I could decide if the framing exposure were right and make some adjustments on the spot.

It was very interesting, there was about 25 photographers, from all over, some from as far away as Brazil and Australia were on the street with us. We wandered around Madrid for a couple of hours, Tono gave everyone an opportunity to try out his cameras, and next week they will meet again to see the photos everyone had taken.

IMG_9215

I loved getting out on the street with other photographers, but I am not sure I will ever be a convert to pinhole photography. While I always like what I see others producing I am not a fan of what I get from my camera, but then it could be, like everything else, that I won’t be an instant magical success the first time, and must sharpen my skills and my eye for the art!  Here is the one image that I did get that I liked.

IMG_9209

10 thoughts on “World Pinhole Day, April 27th, 2014; Madrid

  1. my sentiment echoes Jules’ exactly. this could really be lots of fun. your image turned out great!
     
    how exciting it is that you are in Spain. i obviously need to catch up on some posts, i see! 🙂

    Like

    • HI Pix, nice to hear from you. glad you like the pinhole experiment. I had to screw up my courage to attend, I thought not knowing anyone, and not speaking Spanish would make me an outsider! But all were welcoming and not only was it fun, we had great results. I will be easier next time to join a group in an unknown city for sure, I recommend it to everyone!

      Like

  2. If you get a chance, see the movie: ‘Tim’s Vermeer’, about the recreation of a Vermeer using (among other things) a camera obscura. Thnaks for the post and the tip avout a lens cap with a pinhole in it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

