Portrait; Street Performer; Sol Souvenir

 

sol souvenir

sol souvenir

Sol Souvenir was performing on the streets of Granada while we were there, we like his music so much we decided to by a cd/dvd. This has to be a tough way to make a living. He was collecting a bit of cash in his guitar case, and had a few cd’s to see. But like most artists, and it doesn’t matter if you are a singer, dancer, painter or photographer, you are one of many. For some it is enough to just be doing the thing we love with the hope that others will also like what we are doing.

Sol Souvenir seemed to be just that type of artist, happy to be out on the street singing with his heart, and entertaining those who stopped to listen. I did find is Facebook page, but there was no music to share. As far as I can tell he hasn’t loaded anything on to you tube, and since we have no cd/dvd player on the laptop there is no way to share his music with you!

I choose to process the image with Nik Silver Effect’s Pro, Film Noir, with several changes to the preset, I wanted to the old gritty rock n’ roll look, and with the high contrast I was able to reduce the background to a few minor shadows that were less distracting than in the original image.

Sol Souvenir, if you see the blog, let us know where we can find your music and I will share it with my blog readers. We would love to hear from you.

 

2 thoughts on “Portrait; Street Performer; Sol Souvenir

  1. Fabulous! I’m beginning to run out of superlatives to describe your work Janice! 🙂
    I love the effects you used on these photos, especially in the first one. Well… maybe especially in the second one too! The second photo is very appealing from a compositional point of view while, at the same time, I love the simple lines of the first photo. Now, if only I were as good a photographer as you are…….

    Like

    • Thanks Stewart, for you kind comments, and constant support. I do have to say that getting out with a camera as well as taking some time everyday to learn the different processing tools that are available has made a difference to my work. Although I still struggle with storytelling, I do enjoy just showing everyone some little piece of the world as I see it!.

      Like

Leave a Reply

