In the Forest; Monochrome Madness

in the forest; copyright jmeyersforeman

in the forest; copyright jmeyersforeman

Another image from cottage country; while there I spent a little time walking around the cottage, thick dense forest. with lovely mushrooms growing out of the old stumps, wishing I had my macro lens with me. Accepting my limitations, and learning to work with the equipment I have, not always wishing for something else, I watched the sun’s rays stream down lighting small areas of the forest floor, and the leaves that were waving in the small breeze. I needed to have a shallow depth of field to separate the leaves from the busy background. I had to move around this little branch to find the right composition, I thought it made sense to have the branch flow from the bottom left to the top right where the sun flare magically lights the top leaves.  Occasionally when I am out with my camera I think more intentionally of the compositional rules, but most times, I work my way round the scene with and idea in mind until I find something that works, and many times I cannot even tell you why it work, until I get home and start review and process images.

A forest scene like this can be busy, all the different textures, and shades of green in the background, and I found that it was a perfect candidate for a monochrome images. Removing colour simplifies the image to shapes, flow and light. Once completed I decided to submit it to Leanne Cole’s monochrome madness weekly post that features many, many photographers and their best, their favourite monochrome image for the week. Through this block I have, at least online, met several photographers whose work I admire, studied different approaches to monochrome images, and photography in general, and spent several hours just enjoying the creative photography submitted.  I highly recommend you take a trip to Leanne Cole’s blog.

4 thoughts on “In the Forest; Monochrome Madness

  1. Jan, I loved reading about your creative choices in shooting and post-processing this beautifully ethereal image. I agree it is perfect for black and white conversion! And great description of Monochrome Madness – the weekly galleries are always so wonderfully diverse and inspiring.

    Like

    • thanks Stacy, writing about my photography is fairly new for me, and reading your before and after blog your posts, and the posts of of the photographers has really help me to appreciate and write those choices wand intern grow from those choices! thanks for your encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

