Poppy in Black and White

Poppy in Black and White; copyright jmeyersforeman
Poppy in Black and White; copyright jmeyersforeman

One of my favourite flowers, the poppy, so many colours, blowing and dancing delicately in the breeze. Then when the flower is gone the seed pod is always interesting.

 

There isn’t much to be said about a pretty flower photo, so I thought I would show you what I started with……..

IMG_0706

When I was travelling I limited the lens I carried and without a macro lens I was unable to fill the frame the way I wanted to. I knew that I would be doing some cropping in Photoshop. After the framing and cropping I then used Nik Silver Effects Pro 2 to create the black and white.

Screenshot 2014-09-26 07.38.38

If  you are new to Photoshop or Lightroom, Nik Software is a “plug-in”  or for lack of a better term a program we can use inside these two editing programs to develop the image and create “quick” result.  I say quick, because if you have used the software before and have a vision for what you want then  the results can be quick, if however you are unsure of what might be best then there are so many variables both in presets and the changes that can be made to those presets. There are so many variables that I have been known to play with and loose an hour or more on one image!  The adjustments I made are not featured in the screen shot, I recreated this image for the blog as an afterthought!

 

6 thoughts on “Poppy in Black and White

    1. Hi Buntymcc, I sometimes set a timer, so I don’t spend too much time just playing. But then I do that for a few tasks, like gardening as well! it seems easy to loose track of time when I am having fun…..

      Like

Leave a Reply

