Dream; After-Before Friday

 

Dream; copyright jmeyersforeman 2014 (after)
Dream; copyright jmeyersforeman 2014 (after)

As part of the After-Before Friday, hosted by Stacy Fisher I was inspired to try something a little different this week.

There is so much to tell you about this image. It started with a visit to the Uffizi Gallery in Florence, one of Europe’s premier museum, and a place that I became completely absorbed for about 2 1/2 hours, until my feet were tired, and I desperately needed coffee! During my visit to this, or any museum for that matter, I, if I can, take photos of some of the works of art. Typically information I want to keep for reference, a study of how the artist used light, colour, shape, or line to draw us in. Sometimes it is the posing of a people, a couple or of a female that I might keep for future reference and inspiration. Among the image I took during our visit was this stone relief of a female, it looked as if she was dancing, as if in a dream world all of her own. There were 6 figures along the 6 inch high relief sculpture, this one seemed the most interesting for me.

When I was reviewing my photos and wondering what I would do with this one, and what I might prepare for the after-before image I decided to work with a layer texture, as specifically one that was created by Kim Klassen, she has created some wonderful textures, and has some e-learning programs if you are interested in working with texture layers but don’t know where to start.  The two images I started with……….

dream-before-sample
dream-before-sample
dream-before-sample
dream-before-sample

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started with the image on the right in Lightroom 5, adjusting with the Infrared preset, then moving the image into Photoshop I cleaned of the edges removing the distraction with the content aware fill tool, and smoothed the texture of the stone on the face. Then dodging the face, neck and shoulder to lighten those areas, and burned some of the details in her dress to make them a little stronger.  My next step was to open kk-dream texture from Kim Klassen, copied it and then pasted a new layer onto my original image and using the Transform tool to re-shape and cover the image.  I changed the blend mode on the texture layer to Colour Burn, and the opacity to 79%, this allows the image of the “dreamer” to show through.  It sounds complicated and I apologize to the readers who might not be familiar with some of the terms. If you are interested in learning more about using textures with your photography I would suggest checking out Kim Klassen’s website or do an internet search, there are plenty of tutorials. If you have questions regarding my process I would be happy to answer them, as best I can.

It is quite amazing to think about all the inspiration in one museum, we never really know where it might take us or what creative doors it might open for us. Where do you find your inspiration?  I recommend heading over to the After-Before Friday post by Stacy Fisher to see what other photographers are doing, I know there is lots to learn from the other photographers that contribute each week.

9 thoughts on “Dream; After-Before Friday

  1. Janice, this is a beautiful example of blending a texture with an image. Silly me – I simply thought the words were part of the sculpture. Love your creativity with this and I will definitely be checking out Kim’s site and the links you provided. Thanks so much for that. Thanks, too, for once again participating in ABFriday. Love having you a part of it!

    Like

    1. Thanks Stacy, if is fun and challenging to contribute to the post. I have started to examine my process a little closer so I am learning a lot, and of course writing a technical piece that people can, hopefully, understand is always difficult at least for me. Thanks for inspiring me to take up the challenge! No I am headed off to see what the other contributors are working on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Janice: I really like what you have done here. I can understand how the figure captured your attention. In addition, thanks for the lead on the textures. It’s something I’ve been thinking about off and on, but didn’t know exactly where to start. Now I do. I hope you keep contributing to the ABFRiday series, it’s been incredibly interesting to see what others are doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Robin, nice to hear you like the image, thanks for the encouragement! Textures are an interesting way to create something entirely your own. I will check out the other contributors sometime tomorrow, but usually everyone does a great job, and I enjoy being part of the “team”

      Like

  3. This is so fresh and interesting, thank you for creating such an elaborate post, much appreciated. I think your original image is so beautiful, it didn’t need any work done. But your after image is amazing, at first I thought that was a real texture, was wondering what you used to expose it. Silly me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Snow, it is nice to hear you like the image(s) and enjoyed the post. working with textures and layers in Photoshop is a way of creating something entirely my own! The original image is beautiful, the figure is graceful and delicate, and that is what attracted me to it. Thanks for taking time to comment, it is nice to hear from people!

      Like

Leave a Reply

