Monochrome Madness; Salzburg in the evening

Bill on the steps Salzburg; copyright jmeyersforeman 2014

Bill on the steps Salzburg; copyright jmeyersforeman 2014 

I think it is the winter season here in the Northern Hemisphere, I am not sure, but I will suggest that the reason I am showing you so many evening images lately is that the days are so short, and the nights so long.  I should be happy, it is a great time to practise working in low light situations, to get use to carrying a tripod, to use the flash in different situations, and basically try new things, and I am happy!

The other reason that you are seeing a lot of night images is that the days have been cloudy and grey, no snow thankfully, only one day of rain, but dull and flat, and it is difficult to get something dramatic to show you. Now I am not complaining, just letting you know conditions haven’t been perfect.

This was a perfect setting to practise the long exposure and flash combination again. There were some adjustments before I got this image. I am not sure if it is perfect, any suggestions let me know. It is my contribution to Monochrome Madness for this week.  Leanne Cole publishes a blog post once a week, a bunch of photographers contribute they black and white images, each week is different and worth a look!

5 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness; Salzburg in the evening

Leave a Reply

