Watching the crowds go by

Prague Hungary; watching the crowds go by; copyright jmeyersforeman

Prague Hungary; watching the crowds go by; copyright jmeyersforeman

Bill in Budapest, watching the crowds to by. I like how the golden leaves are sprinkled around like confetti.

According to the metadata this image was taken on November 10, 2014, less than 2 months ago. To be honest it feels like it has been ages since we were in Budapest. We are going to stop travelling, for a while, we have booked a small apartment in Malaga Spain and we are looking forward to being in one place for more than a few days. There will be time to watch people, and relax in the sunshine.

I do have plans for a couple of projects but they will have more to do with photography than with travelling, but all those travel photos will continue to show up as I experiment with different processing styles.  I do want to do more after-before blogs, I learned a lot from taking notes and writing detailed posts of how some of the images are processed. The group is also going to have a challenge once a month. One image submitted by a member of the group is processed by everyone. We did this as a group a couple of months ago, it is amazing to see the all the different results, you can read more about this group challenge on Stacy’s Blog.

Kim Klassen has a Be-Still 52 course, Kim calls this a year of still life inspiration. I have followed Kim’s blog for sometime, she uses textures in both Lightroom and Photoshop, I have use some textures with some photos, but I was time to make a commitment to a still life a week as part of my learning this year.

One more thing, I have a new flash, since it is the only light I am carrying in my small bag of camera equipment I hope to spend a little more time exploring the range of possibilities. The Canon Learning Center has a series of tutorials, one is actually called “beyond the instruction manual” I can’t say I have read the entire manual, but I do know where it is, and I have referred to it once or twice! Definitely a place where more learning would be fun and of value.

2014 was about exploring, cities, festivals, art, and so much more. I explored photography techniques like HDR, and night photography, incorporating Lightroom into my process, and I have been exploring the Creative Cloud with all it has to offer. I feel there is still so much to learn. 2014 it was about being open to seeing, and I want to continue with that but I want 2015 to have a little more intention, and a little more structure as I explore gaps in my skills.

I read this quote recently “Go and make interesting mistakes, make amazing mistakes, make glorious and fantastic mistakes. Break rules. Leave the world more interesting for your being here.” – Neil Gaiman. I will go forth and make interesting, fantastic, glorious mistakes as I learn, and I hope to tell you about a few of them.

What things are you looking forward to in 2015?

5 thoughts on “Watching the crowds go by

  1. Beautiful image, Janice, accompanied by a wonderful post. What wonderful travels you have had, and we have all been so lucky to share in them through your incredible images. Thanks so much for the ABFriday shout out. I’m honored you have enjoyed the challenges and are a part of the group! All the best for 2015

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

