DANCE ME…….

IMG_8631 tango 3
Tango Dancing

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic ’til I’m gathered safely in
Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove
Dance me to the end of love ”
Leonard Cohen

I love this quote, Leonard Cohen’s poetry and music touches the soul. I seem to have a lot going on right now, but some of it is just busy work, including looking back and sorting old photos, while working on new ideas. Thinking about where I have been, and what I have done while planning what is next. The ongoing dance of evaluating what has happened and planning where I what to go, and projects that will touch my soul.

I do have to be careful, busy work, can keep me from the hard work, thinking and planning about what is next.

Ideas are wonderful but they need plans; without a plan nothing gets done. Decisions about what projects or ideas to move forward and on but how to move forward. This means, at least for me, weekly and even daily tasks. The ideas, plans and tasks can, and do get amended, just like dancers on a crowded dance floor, watching, turning, sometimes moving backwards, but there has to be a plan, and a good lead.

Busy work can feel good, like I have ticked off a bunch of tasks in a day, planning work can difficult, initiating a new project can be, at least for me, daunting, there is, at the beginning no forward momentum, sometimes there is doubt about where and how to start, who to bring into the conversation first, it’s like waiting for the music to start and “lift me like an olive branch….”

I do have a few new projects, like selling my work on Society6 that have been kicked off, the next stage will be sending out, only occasionally, information about the sales, and I will be announcing a new project in the near future. I can hear the music, now to step to the dance floor!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “DANCE ME…….

    1. thanks Carolynne; I do think of life a bit like a dance, as we move through life we co-ordinate our moves with family and partners, sometimes we move to the sound of other people’s drumbeat (needs) sometimes it is a beautiful waltz sometimes if feels like a march with a choreograph group trying to get a major project completed!
      I do try to get through each day with some grace, sometimes I miss step, sometimes step on someone’s toes and have to recover, but I have learned the dance goes on!
      I am glad you like the analogy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

