Long Walk Home

 

long walk home; lyon france, fine art print
Long walk home; black and white fine art print

We were visiting Lyon France, and we had wandered the cobblestone streets of the old city. During the day I noticed this street and decide to go back to photograph during twilight, when the street lights were on, but before too dark.
As I was watching the street waiting for the street lights to come on, I was admiring the light and how it was shining off the cobblestone street when I noticed a gentleman carrying a briefcase begin to walk up the street.
I love the idea of having someone on the street, this gentleman with his briefcase was perfect. This wasn’t the image I had hoped for, the street lights had not yet come on. But I could see, in my mind’s eye, the potential, I started to move to the left to gain some separation between the person and the vehicles, I had moved my camera up to my eye, checking the exposure, focusing on the gentleman, when the bird took off. I knew I would have one maybe two frames. It worked. The light wasn’t quite what I had planned, I had intended to show the street as a long walk home at the end of the day, the warm glow of the street lamp lighting the cobblestones, the bird were a bonus, better than anything I could have hoped for. 

Have you ever headed out with your camera going to a particular location with an image in mind? Did you find the photo you were imagining, or something better? If so, did you blog about it? Let us know, provide a link in the comments, I would love to hear your story.

If you are interested, I have added this image to my society6 page, prints are available there.

2 thoughts on “Long Walk Home

Leave a Reply

