Remake: Woman with Parasol

woman with Parasol
Remake: Woman with Parasol

I have been following Boooooooom for a while, as with so many websites that I follow, I stock from a distance, reading the information, occasionally liking and sometimes, but less frequently  participating in the discussions. Lately I have decided to take a more active role in some of the websites that inspire me.

Boooooooom has a several projects on the go, Remake appealed to me. The challenge was to remake a masterwork of art as a photograph. Claude Monet is one of my favourite painters. The rules were simple it has to be a photography and the idea was to re-creating and re-staging the image. All the work here happens before you take the photo, rather than afterward, no special effects and other things to your image after the images was taken.

The challenge of re-creating an impressionist’s painting; first was the weather, we are headed into autumn here, those white puffy clouds were not available the day of our photoshoot, and because of the overcast conditions my images doesn’t have the strong shadows of Mr. Monet’s painting. I did use a neutral density filter for a longer exposure, that helped to re-recreate the softness of the image, but too long an exposure, and we did do some much longer exposures) meant the image was too soft for my liking. But this softness might be something I have to get use to if I am going to re-create/remake anymore of his work, and he has an amazing collection that would be fun to explore this way!

How do you think I did, straight from the camera? Do you have a favourite painter you would like to pay homage to and re-create their inspiring picture?

 

5 thoughts on “Remake: Woman with Parasol

    1. HI Marie, nice to hear from you, and even better since you like the work! Doing the four season might be very interesting, it can be very cold here in the winter so I will have to pick just the right day, but I might just give it a go….

      Like

      1. Yes, please do! I’m a huge fan of Monet, and I’m very interested in what you come up with next. 🙂 This is a great project that could be explored pretty much endlessly with any of your favourite artists. I love the whole concept, it really appeals to me. Happy Thanksgiving!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

